Browse Our Categories

     


 




Fang-tastic Fiction: Twenty-First Century Paranormal Reads
Patricia O'Brien Mathews
Item Number: 978-0-8389-1073-3
 
Publisher: ALA Editions
Price: $55.00
 
 
 
Email Friend
 
  Order Options:  
 
  Qty:  
 
  Add To Cart  
 
  Add To Wish List  
 
This title is also available for purchase as an e-book or as a print/e-book bundle.


272 pages
6" x 9"
Softcover
ISBN-13: 978-0-8389-1073-3
Year Published: 2011
AP Categories: A, C

Watch an interview with the author, read an article about the book and check out a sample of the book now!


“What’s good besides Twilight?”

Answer frequently asked questions such as this with the help of Mathews’ engaging tour through today’s spooky lit. Readers will be able to search "read-alike" lists for series featuring their favorite "creatures" with up-to-date, chronological lists of series titles and summaries. Librarians will be able to suggest a multitude of adventures starring angst-ridden heartthrobs, superheroes, and champions. Focused exclusively on the best of the best, this lively readers’ advisory
  • Rates each series on a scale of 1 - 5 for levels of violence, sensuality, and humor
  • Contains more than 200 annotated entries
  • Enables book selection by type, character, series, and author
  • Lists all the volumes in a favorite series together and offers numerous read-alikes
Designed to keep librarians and readers up-to-date with the hottest contemporary supernatural beings in adult literature, Fang-tastic Fiction is both fun to read and easy to use.
Table of Contents

Acknowledgments
Introduction

1. Read-Alikes: Categorizing the Series

Categorized by Plot
Soul-Mate Romance
Urban Fantasy
Chick Lit
Cozy Mystery
Historical
Categorized by Protagonist’s Gender
Female
Male
Categorized by Protagonist’s Type
Vampire
Werewolf or Other Shape-Shifter
Demon
Hunter of Demons, Vampires, or Werewolves
Investigator or Detective
Fae or Other Supernatural Creatures
Witch, Wiccan, Wizard, Shaman, Sorcerer, Exorcist, Necromancer, Magician
Human with Supernatural Connection or Talent
Categorized by Level of Violence
0–2 (Little or No Violence)
4–5 (Very Violent)
Categorized by Level of Sensuality
0–2 (Little or No Sex)
4–5 (Lots of Graphic Sex)
Categorized by Level of Humor
0–2 (Little or No Humor)
4–5 (Lots of Laughs)

2. Series Descriptions

3. Anthologies

Web Resources
References
Index

About the Author

After growing up as the high school principal’s daughter in a small Ohio town (an adolescent’s nightmare), Patricia Mathews inexplicably pursued a career in public education, working as a teacher, program coordinator, and curriculum and assessment designer. She currently has the best job of her life—working behind the reference desk at her local branch library. Before getting caught up in paranormal fiction, her favorite readings were narrative nonfiction and character-driven fiction. Now, however, she can’t resist the heroes and heroines of urban fantasy. She lives in northeastern Ohio with her two cats, and although she watches them carefully, she has never caught them in the act of shape shifting.
Reviews

"Paranormal lovers and urban fantasy fans, here's a special Halloween treat for you ... with humor and a great love for the genre, Mathews focuses on 'the best of the best' in modern supernatural fiction series, like Sookie Stackhouse and Anita Blake."
--RT Book Reviews

"Fang-tastic Fiction is a must-have for everyone: die-hard fans of the genre, beginners, and parents wondering what sort of books their teens are devouring. It's an invaluable resource (and not just because I'm in it!)."
--MaryJanice Davidson, New York Times best-selling author of Undead and Unfinished

"It is a great primer for anyone who doesn't read a lot of paranormal fiction and wants to increase their knowledge of this popular genre. Paranormal aficionados will enjoy it as well because they will learn about titles they might have missed. Overall, this book is highly recommended for all public libraries."
The Idaho Librarian

"This is a great way to find read-alikes, particularly if your reader prefers tongue firmly in cheek when selecting ... most readers advisory desk staff will agree that this guide is much-needed and will be heavily used."
--VOYA

"She gives a handy introduction to each series, and her subdivisions and content ratings are useful, especially given the number of works which contain graphic material. Paranormal fiction is an increasingly popular genre, but it is likely that the librarian, unless a fan personally, will have heard of comparatively few of these authors and series, and will be able to discuss them with or recommend them to readers even less often. This is, of course, where Fang-tastic Fiction comes in."
--The Australian Library Journal
 
 

  Also of interest:  
 
 
 
The Readers’ Advisory Handbook
Item Number:  978-0-8389-1042-9
 
To help harried libraries handle increased demand, experts Jessica Moyer and Kaite Stover assemble a group of specialists who have created a one-stop resource for all kinds of readers' advisory issues. Here you will find a trove of solid guidance.
 
Price: $55.00
 
 
 
 
 
The Readers’ Advisory Guide to Graphic Novels
Item Number:  978-0-8389-1008-5
 
Francisca Goldsmith provides the first guide to the genre aimed specifically at readers’ advisors, while presenting an abundance of resources useful to every librarian.
 
Price: $45.00
 
 
 
 
 
The Readers' Advisory Guide to Genre Fiction, Second Edition
Item Number:  978-0-8389-0989-8
 
This revised edition provides a way of understanding the vast universe of genre fiction in an easy-to-use format.
 
Price: $65.00